

CEDEC Congress 2015

Think Energy Union – Act Local

15 October 2015, 9:00-17:30h, EU Thon Hotel, Rue de la Loi 75, 1040 Brussels

Evening Reception on 14 October 2015, From 19h, Théâtre du Vaudeville, 1000 Brussels

9:00 – 10:30 High-level Opening:

Involve citizens and local actors in the European Energy Union

Welcome: Rudi Oss, CEDEC President and President of Dolomiti Energia

<u>Key-note Speech:</u> **Maroš Šefčovič,** European Commission Vice-President for the Energy Union

Panel debate: Moderator: Gert De Block, CEDEC Secretary General

Frederik Wisselink, Policy Advisor of the Department of Energy Markets of the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Upcoming Dutch Council Presidency

Claude Turmes, Member of the ITRE Committee, Member of the European Parliament (tbc)

Peter van Kemseke, Member of Cabinet, European Commission Vice-President for the Energy Union

Annemarie Jorritsma, President, Council of European Municipalities and Regions, The Netherlands

Helmut Herdt, CEO, Stadtwerke Magdeburg, Germany



10:30 - 11:00 Consumer choice in competitive energy markets: who wins?

Key-note speaker: Catherine Waddams, Professor, University of East Anglia & CERRE

11:00 - 11:15 Coffee Break

11:15-12:45 From Paris 2015 to EU 2030 - Is Europe leading or lagging?

<u>Introductory statement:</u> **Brigitte Knopf,** Secretary General, Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change, Adviser to IPCC

Moderator: Sonja van Renssen, Journalist, Energy and Environment

Isaac Valero Ladrón, Member of Cabinet, European Commissioner for Climate and Energy (tbc)

Gerhard Holtmeier, CEO, Thüga (Multi-utility company, Germany)

Serge de Gheldere, Founder Futureproofed, Partner of "Klimaatzaak"

Wolfgang Weber, Vice-President EU Government Relations, BASF Group

Richard Lavergne, Advisor to the Director-General for Energy & Climate, Ministry of Sustainable Development, France

12:45 - 13:45 Lunch Break

13:45 - 15:15 Local multi-utilities: Outdated or Innovative?

<u>Introductory statement</u>: **Dr. Marc Nicolai,** Partner, KPMG (Germany)

Moderator: Sonja van Renssen, Journalist, Energy and Environment

Paul Rübig, Member of the ITRE Committee, Member of the European Parliament (tbc)

Giovanni Valotti, President, A2A (Multi-utility company, Italy) and Utilitalia, Italian Federation of Multi-utility Companies

Frank Vanbrabant, CEO, Infrax (Multi-utility DSO, Belgium)

Inete lelite, Member of the Sustainable Energy Action Plan Board, Riga

Eric Houtman, Member of the Board, National Energy Ombudsmen Network (NEON)



15:15 - 16:00 Coffee Break

Parallel sessions
Creating flexibility in the energy value chain - Keeping the lights on?
Introductory statement: Patrick Clerens, Secretary General, European Association for Storage of Energy (EASE)
Moderator: Gert De Block, CEDEC Secretary General
Jan Panek, Head of Unit, Retail Markets, Coal and Oil, DG Energy, European Commission
Valeria Termini, Commissioner Aeegsi, Vice- President Council of European Energy Regulators
Bente Hagem, Chair of the Board, ENTSO-E
Jan van Oorschot, Managing Director Clients & Markets, Liander (DSO, The Netherlands)
Björn Ter Bruggen , General Counsel, Elinorr (DSO, Sweden)